Operation: PR Student (#OPRS)

4 Feb

Do you remember the beginning of your last semester of college? You were probably involved in more than three organizations, interning, on a national board and trying to find a job, right? Or … is that my story? Regardless, I think you get my point. The PR profession has some amazing students aspiring to

Operation: PR Student #OPRS

be just like us. However, it is a lot harder to get into this industry than it looks. For a lot of vacant positions, it is extremely important that students know someone on the inside to pass along their resume.

The thought of a passionate and capable student having to settle for less than their dream is unacceptable. This is why I have decided to encourage every PR professional to find one student and help them land their first post-graduation gig! I’ve found my student and we are working hard to get her in with an NYC-based agency.

How does it work?

  • Find a student who has realistic job-placement goals and help them accomplish them. Before taking on a student, I suggest you make sure you have a perfect match. For instance, if your student wants to work in political communications and you don’t have any connections in that industry, it probably isn’t a good match.
  • Help the student to improve their resume and cover letter.
  • When they land the interview, offer to host a mock interview with them.
  • Blog about it! Put it on Facebook! Tweet about it! I want other professionals and students to share their experience with this process so it becomes something we do every year.

Pretty simple, right?

Imagine how you can make a difference in a student’s life by taking the initiative to help them accomplish what someone helped you to accomplish.

Will you step up to the plate and help a student out?

19 Responses to “Operation: PR Student (#OPRS)”

  1. Probably Rachel February 4, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    I would love to be “adopted” by a Cleveland PR pro. How would a student be able to initiate a relationship like that?

    • ThePRNerd February 4, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

      Hey, Rachel! I would encourage you to dig through your contacts and outreach to any professionals you admire. Also, contact your local PRSA chapter because they often have programs to help students. Check the #OPRS hashtag on Twitter. I believe a Cleveland-area professional just tweeted about wanting to help.

  2. prgirlonamission February 4, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    This is an AWESOME idea! I’m a nonprofit PR pro in the DC metro area and I work in a human services org. I’d be more than happy to adopt a PR student looking to move into this field! Anyone who is interested, shoot me an email at fleuredeflorida@gmail.com

    • ThePRNerd February 8, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

      Glad to hear you’re volunteering to help! I saw you tweet it out as well. Any luck so far?

  3. worob February 4, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Great initiative, Kion. Kudos for writing this up and wanting to help others find jobs.

    @Worob
    PR at Sunrise (worob.com)

  4. Josh Morris February 4, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Great write up and even better initiative, Kion! I’ve helped a friend land a dream job and it’s definitely a gratifying feeling – but it’s not about me, or the mentors, though it helps to get something out of it, too. That said, I’m becoming more involved in the PR student world again because I’m learning some valuable lessons that would be a waste if not shared IMO.

    Remember to pass on open positions you come across to PR professors, programs and students for them to pass around their own networks as well – a less personal approach but an equally resourceful contribution to a student’s search.

    I love the community that is PR 🙂

    • ThePRNerd February 8, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      Thanks, Josh! It’s good to hear you’re mentoring and helping students land jobs. I am right there with you and it definitely feels great to help others, especially students.

  5. Taylor Schaffer February 5, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I am actually one of those public relations students in need of both guidance and a job! I love this article and won’t forget these tips once I have a job and a career path of my own.

    • ThePRNerd February 8, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      Glad you dig the post, Taylor! It’s good to hear you won’t forget these tips once you lang your gig. If you’re looking for guidance, I strongly encourage reaching out to your local PRSA chapter.

  6. Carly Hanson February 5, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Wonderful article! I am graduating soon and feel that having a professional PR contact would be such a great advantage and help me find my place in the PR world!

    • ThePRNerd February 8, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

      Thanks, Carly! I am glad you enjoyed the post. Contact your local PRSA chapter and find out how you can connect with a professional. Believe it or not, a lot of professionals are waiting on students to take initiative and ask them for help.

  7. Suzanne Tennant February 17, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Great idea! We’re looking to take on a graduate at Golley Slater PR in Birmingham, UK at the moment. Email me at stennant@golleyslater.co.uk for more details.

  8. Jason Heilweil March 29, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Great to see that you’re doing all you can to help out students Kion. I’m also speaking to some old classmates of mine who are getting ready to leave the nest known as college. Hopefully I’ll be able to help them get in the right direction.

    Keep up the good work!

  9. www.sharetrip.com February 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    I leave a response when I appreciate a article on a website or if I have
    something to contribute to the conversation.

    Usually it is a result of the sincerness communicated in
    the post I read. And on this article Operation:
    PR Student (#OPRS) They Call Me Social K. I was actually
    excited enough to post a comment 😉 I do have a couple of questions for you if you
    do not mind. Could it be only me or do some of these comments come across
    as if they are written by brain dead people? 😛
    And, if you are posting at other online sites, I would like to keep up with you.

    Would you make a list every one of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  10. David Olsen September 9, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    Hello! I’m David. Your blog post are really amazing as well as you blog is also great, I cant wait to see your new post. Thanks!!http://www.davidolsenmarketing.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Operation: PR Student (#OPRS) « The PR Nerd -- Topsy.com - February 4, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tressa Robbins, SarahSkerik, WCU PRSSA, Michelle Wong, Michelle Wong and others. Michelle Wong said: RT @sarajeanmiller: The PR Nerd: Operation: PR Student (#OPRS): http://t.co/yT8QjhW #HAPPO #PRSSA #PRSA #PRStudChat #PR […]

  2. Yes, I will help you get a job in PR — Sakita Holley - February 9, 2011

    […] are the words of Kion Sanders, author of The PR Nerd, who believes that if every public relations professional helped a student land an internship or […]

  3. esPResso | News-Bite: New PR mentors wanted - October 17, 2011

    […] provide insights and coaching on an occasional basis. Her mentor programme was in part motivated by this PR blog discussing a similar scheme in the US. Anyone interested in getting involved in this programme as a […]

Leave a Reply

