Is Kelly Rowland’s New Image Good For Her Brand?

16 Jun

Can we talk about Kelly Rowland‘s new image? For years, Kelly was branded as a classy woman. While I am happy she is having success with her

latest single “Motivation,” I’m concerned with what it will do to her brand. She is getting very “Keri Hilson” on us, right? I don’t want to think about Kelly as a freak in the bed, I want think of her as a classy woman who can be brought home to meet someone’s mother. I have been (and always will be) a Kelly fan. I had this conversation on Facebook a few days ago with friends who had very interesting opinions.

I would love to hear thoughts from you all. What do you think about her new image? Is it negative? Is it something that can hurt her in the long-run?

8 Responses to “Is Kelly Rowland’s New Image Good For Her Brand?”

  1. Brandon Vaughan June 16, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    And so continues the commercialization of the hypersexualization of the black female. SMH.

  2. Darris June 16, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I dont mind the new image for that particular song as long as she doesnt go too far. Keri went too far with “The Way You Love Me”. Kelly’s main concern shouldnt be what her image should be but more with striking while the iron is hot and still in her favor. Its her first significant hit in the States in year and she/her isnt handling the chance as well as I would hope…

    This is Darris by the way, great blog.

    • ThePRNerd June 17, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      Good point, Darris! I hope she capitalizes on the publicity she is receiving and use it to get to the next level in her career. Glad you digg the blog, dude!

  3. YUMMommy June 17, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    I don’t think this will hurt her in the future. I think she was trying to do a video concept that would fit the sexual nature of the song. She is on a journey to find herself as a solo artist and that means experimenting with different looks, vocal sounds and more. As long as she doesn’t take it to the extreme like

  4. YUMMommy June 17, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    I don’t think this will hurt her in the future. I think she was trying to do a video concept that would fit the sexual nature of the song. She is on a journey to find herself as a solo artist and that means experimenting with different looks, vocal sounds and more. As long as she doesn’t take it to the extreme like Christina did.

  5. Wesley Jack Claybourne July 3, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    Hey I completely see where you are coming from, especially the point of the hypersexualization of black woman, but honestly I think she is doing the right thing “for her”. Shes been working hard to get in the lime light since Destiny’s child, and I honestly think any press she can gets is good. Lately she has been doing alot and it makes me proud to see her going strong.

    But hey, maybe you could give me some advice, or opinions. I am actually on my way to becoming a stand up comedian, and while thats not generally known as a “fashion centric” genre in show business, I really do pride myself on my style. I just made a blog about what it takes to become a comedian starting from my very first open mic. If you are ever bored or want to talk more about branding/style check it out http://pplaresosilly.blogspot.com/

    Nice blog man keep it up.

  6. alexandramo May 30, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    It seems as though they have tried to appeal to a decade younger demographic. She has been around for a long time and I don’t necessarily think it is going to hurt her. Like you said you will always be a Kelly fan, i will always remember her in Dilemma with Nelly but if she wants to appeal to a new era then good for her. Either way I see where your going with it. Nice blog! @alexandra_mo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

