HOW TO: Turn Twitter Relationships Into Real Relationships

12 Jun

In the marketing/PR field, real relationships (not pointless “connections”) are a high priority for those who aspire to go far in the industry. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve been obsessed with meeting new people and listening to their life’s story. Naturally, this has helped me to meet amazing people in my industry.

Meet In Person

Kanye West and Jay-Z chatting over drinks

It’s easy to email back-and-forth with someone but what’s more memorable … an email conversation or a Happy Hour conversation? I’ve tried to build relationships with Tweeps via email, especially with those who have active schedules. Those have not worked in my favor, plus I digg face-to-face interaction. A few weeks ago, I came across Weber Shandwick professional, Ronn Richardson on Twitter. After tweeting with him a few times, I asked him to meet me for drinks. We met, conversed for hours and discovered we had a lot in common. Now, I talk to him like every day, attend various industry events with him and he will be redesigning my blog. What if I didn’t ask him out for drinks and just tried to “connect” via email?

Don’t Be Afraid To Outreach

Justin Bieber With His Mentor, Usher

Whenever I find someone on Twitter who I think is cool, I make sure to meet them in person. This isn’t always an easy task because I tend to digg a lot of people who others digg as well. Due to this, I have to be innovative (in a sense) to get them to pay attention to what I’m saying. While trying to convince them to pay me attention, the first thing I think of is: how can I help this person. Before asking someone to meet in person, it’s important you know that they know how you can help them. Being a junior-level employee, this has not been a hard task because a lot of the senior folks I outreach to love giving back. Chatting with a junior-level guy and sharing tips/giving advice helps senior folks (who do not have a lot of time) pay it forward.

Twitter is a great place to meet wonderful people, especially if you work in marketing/PR. So many great professionals from our industry maintain an active presence on Twitter. Until the day I get bored with the tool, it will always be one of my main sources of meeting amazing professionals in my industry.

Have you had any experiences with turning Twitter relationships into real relationships? Do you think a Twitter relationship, by itself, is a “real” relationship?

7 Responses to “HOW TO: Turn Twitter Relationships Into Real Relationships”

  1. emmelie1 June 13, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    Great post! It is nice to be reminded to take risks. Twitter relationships are definitely not real relationships. Nevertheless, they certainly enhance an already existing relationship and can be the informal and indirect introduction you need to meet movers and shakers in your industry or even people you simply admire. My experience with turning Twitter relationships into real relationships has been very rewarding (especially within PRSSA) but there is more I can do. Thank you for the confidence boost.

    • ThePRNerd June 17, 2011 at 9:13 am #

      Glad I could encourage you, Emmelie!

  2. Mo Morales Lisac June 13, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Great post! I’ve been thinking about this myself for a while now. My question would be, what about those people who don’t live in the same area as you? How do you transform those relationships? Do you stick to Twitter until you can make the face-to-face thing happen?

    • ThePRNerd June 17, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      Great question, Mo! Since I spend the majority of my online life on Twitter, I try to stay in contact with people who are located in different cities via Twitter. Whenever I see an opportunity to engage — via DM, @reply or through a chat — I do it. So, when I come to their city or they come to mine, we make sure to meet in person.

  3. rinnis85 October 16, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I like this post, and will start doing this. It is important for me since I moved to a new city its wise to connect with like minded people outside of my work.

  4. Jennifer April 12, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    This is a great post!

    I find it hard to transfer Twitter relationships into real life relationships partially because Twitter fails to hold my attention very long. I do, however, manage to make great contacts who have eventually become business partners, contributors to my site or friends via FB.

    I do intend to work harder on my “Twitter-ppearance” though. Hopefully, a little more interaction and consistent activity will allow me to connet to some really great people!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Students: Stretch your paycheck, make friends on Twitter and fly cheap - June 15, 2011

    […] PR Nerd” on how to turn Twitter relationships into real […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

